Riders Cup

Maxwell Dunne


The Riders Cup competition is a reflection of how the top riders have pushed the fastest sport on skates to the next level – some athletes build their own tracks in partnerships with local ski resorts and organizations. The Riders Cup events are organized "by riders for riders" and are part of the Ice Cross Downhill World Championship. The Riders Cup events are held, for the most part, in the vicinity of the major stops and they are designed, built and organized by the host riders themselves on their home courses. Besides a separate Riders Cup ranking, the participants of the Riders Cup can also earn valuable points for the Ice Cross Downhill World Championship, with the winner of each ATSX500 and ATSX250 race earning 500 and 250 championship points respectively in the overall World Championship - in other words 50 percent and 25 percent of the 1,000 points awarded to the winners of the major stops.

Competitors from more than 25 different nations train year-round. Athletes from a variety of different sporting backgrounds – everything from downhill skiing to mountain-biking – compete in ice cross downhill competitions, such as Red Bull Crashed Ice events and Riders Cup competitions.

There were six Riders Cup races on the calendar in 2017/18 as the high-speed sport continued to grow.


Riders Cup 2017/18 Race Calendar:

DEC. 16 Wagrain-Kleinarl, Austria - Flying Start for Naasz in Austrian Alps
JAN. 12/13 Crans-Montana, Switzerland - Wedge Grabs Dramatic Win in Switzerland
JAN. 27 St. Petersburg, Russia - Merz Rules in Russia
FEB. 10 Saariselka, Finland - Dunne Wins Star-Studded Saariselka Race
FEB. 24 Minnesota, USA - Scott Croxall Grabs US Riders Cup Victory
MAR. 03 La Sarre, Canada - Kyle Croxall Wins La Sarre Riders Cup

For more information visit http://www.atsx.org/


2016/17 Highlights


Moscow (RUS), 2016/17

La Sarre (CAN), 2016/17

Rautalampi (FIN), 2016/17

Wagrain-Kleinarl (AUT), 2016/17

2015/16 Riders Cup Highlights


Sherbrooke (CAN), 2015/16

Bathurst (CAN), 2015/16

Rautalampi (FIN), 2015/16

Avoriaz (FRA), 2015/16

Wagrain-Kleinarl (AUT), 2015/16