Naasz Tops Time Trials in Saint Paul

Cameron Naasz
American in top form while Trepanier clocks fastest women's time

Defending champion Cameron Naasz powered to the top of the time trial standings for the third successive Red Bull Crashed Ice event in frosty Saint Paul on Friday afternoon. The American clocked the fastest time over two runs ahead of Scott Croxall in second and Luca Dallago in third, and on Saturday night will target a repeat of his victory here last year to wrestle the overall world championship lead back from fellow Minnesotan Maxwell Dunne.  

In the women's time trials it was Canada's impressive Myriam Trepanier who surged into top spot as she goes in search of a first victory since the opening race of 2015/16 in Quebec City. Minneapolis resident Sydney O'Keefe posted the second fastest time and will no doubt be confident of putting in a strong challenge in front of her fervent home fans, while fellow American Sadie Lundquist grabbed third place.

Meanwhile, in the junior's time trials Finland's Mirko Lahti clocked into top spot with a blistering run down the 340m track that saw him finish an amazing 2.5 seconds ahead of his nearest rivals - Canada's Samuel Nadeau in second and fellow Finn Joni Saarinen in third.

A huge crowd is expected to converge beside the track on Friday and Saturday night to watch what promises to be another thrilling spectacle in front of Saint Paul Cathedral.

Shootout Results

MEN: 1. Cameron Naasz (USA), 2. Scott Croxall (CAN), 3. Luca Dallago (AUT), 4. Tristan Dugerdil (FRA), 5. Dean Moriarity (CAN), 6. Marco Dallago (AUT), 7. Mirko Lahti (FIN), 8. Markus Juola (FIN), 9. Maxwell Dunne (USA), 10. Kyle Croxall (CAN).

WOMEN: 1. Myriam Trepanier (CAN), 2.Sydney O'keefe (USA) 3. Sadie Lundquist (USA), 4. Jacqueline Legere (CAN), 5. Elaine Topolniski (CAN), 6. Anais Morand (SUI), 7. Junko Yamamoto (JPN), 8. Amanda Trunzo (USA), 9. Maxie Plante (CAN), 10. Tamara Kajah (CAN).

JUNIORS: 1. Mirko Lahti (FIN), 2. Samuel Nadeau (CAN), 3. Joni Saarinen (FIN), 4. Martin Barrau (FRA), 5. Václav Kosnar (CZE)